Cable Blog

Insights, Enhancement and Education on Topics that matter to Women in Business

 Nashville ATHENA Program Honors Patricia Glaser Shea with the 27th Annual ATHENA Award 

The Nashville ATHENA Awards and Scholarship Program announced its 2017 award recipients on March 30th, 2017 at OZ Arts Nashville with special guests Mayor Megan Barry and OZ Arts CEO Tim Ozgener. Patricia Glaser Shea was honored with the 2017 ATHENA Award, and Dr. Tameka Winston received the Young Professional Leadership Award. Shea is among 23 ATHENA nominees selected this year by middle Tennessee organizations and associations, and Dr. Winston represents a class of 25 Young Professional Award nominees.

“Every year it is to no surprise that we have such an impressive and outstanding group of women representing the ATHENA and Young Professional Leadership classes. It’s always very hard for our judges to select one recipient in each category because of how outstanding each of these women are,” says ATHENA Chair Mendy Mazzo. “Patricia and Tameka have gone above and beyond to improve the communities in which we live and to inspire both women and young girls. Roxianne and I congratulate each of our recipients and our 48 nominees for their dedication and inspiration. It’s been a true honor to chair this amazing program!”

CEO Emeritus of YWCA Nashville and Middle Tennessee, Shea continues her work with the organization in a consulting role. She has re-shaped the community conversation on domestic violence, expanded services for women and children, changed laws to improve safety for victims of domestic violence, and ensured the financial stability of the 118-year old non-profit. During her 11 years leading the organization, Shea also founded the YWCA’s Advocacy Committee and MEND initiative, increased those served by domestic services and programs to over 10,000 a year, spearheaded a $1.4 million renovation for the Weaver Center, and launched a transitional housing program for women and their children to move back into the community. A co-chair of Mayor Barry’s Gender Equity Council and board member of the CNM, Shea was nominated by the International Women’s Forum’s Tennessee chapter.

Havingworked in higher education for over fifteen years, Dr.Winston is the department chair and an award-winning professor in the Department of Communications at Tennessee State University. An author and Sirius XM radio show host, she uses her platforms to serve as a mentor to, advocate for and inspire students and young adults throughout the Nashville community and nationally. Dr. Winston was nominated by Women in Higher Education in Tennessee.

Presented by Saint Thomas Health, Nashville ATHENA continues to be a premier program, powered by CABLE. The annual event is organized and sponsored through the collaborative efforts of local women’s organizations in partnership with local businesses, corporations and individual sponsors, unlike other cities, which rely upon their local Chamber of Commerce.

The ATHENA Awards Program honors business and professional women for their career success, service to community and encouragement of women. This year’s ATHENA nominees include:

Council Member Burkley M. Allen

Rebecca Bayne

Renee Bobb

Rev. Dr. Gwendolyn Hill

Brown Felder

Rebecca S. Climer

Dr. Angela J. Gaskin

Rep. Brenda J. Gilmore

Dr. Glenda Glover

Kim Hawkins

Rita F. Johnson-Mills

Elizabeth L. Knox

Marlee Mitchell

Hasina A. Mohyuddin

Mekesha H. Montgomery

Patricia Glaser Shea

Laura Smith

Joycelyn A. Stevenson

Dr. Wendy J. Thompson

Nicole Tremblett

Evette White

Tawana Williams

Dr. Letha Woods

Shannon Wright

To see our event video of the Traditional Nominees Click Here

ATHENA also provides the unique opportunity to feature rising women in the community who use their vision and persistence to excel, while reaching out and opening the way for others. This year’s ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award nominees include:

Katie Alexander

Sloan C. Allen

Dr. Nicole K. Arrighi

Tonya Austin

Staci L. Bockman

Christina M. Carlisle

Meg M. Chamblee

Erin D. Coleman

Nikki N. Fant

Amanda Strickland Floyd

Meagan E. Frazier

Hart Harrison

Kellee N. Hill

Monchiere’ Holmes-Jones

Royya L. James

Penny Grace Judd

Daveisha S. Moore

Sarah S. Moore

Tera Rica Murdock

Chara H. Rand

Dr. Crystal G. Rucker

Crissy Wieck Welhoelter

Caroline Randall Williams

Dr. Tameka Winston

Alisha Wix

Launched in 1993 through the support of the Patrons Society and local sponsors, the ATHENA Scholarship Program awards middle Tennessee high school females and young women, both traditional and non-traditional, scholarships for continuing their education. This year ATHENA presented $17,000 in scholarships to eight deserving students, who include:

Lauren Cravens ATHENA Patrons Society scholarship 

Shelby Farrar UPS scholarship 

Samantha Hawkins Tony and Mendy Mazzo scholarship 

Helena Makendengue Women in Technology scholarship 

Gabrielle Napper  First Tennessee scholarship 

Lean Shakhtour Saint Thomas Health scholarship 

Sabrina To ATHENA Patrons Society scholarship

Mendy Mazzo, Vice President of Skanska, serves as the 2017 ATHENA Awards Program Chair with the support of co-chair Roxianne Bethune, Senior Executive President of Alliance Synergy Group, LLC.

”Mendy and I are honored to be involved with this organization and program,” says Bethune. “This program would not be possible without the generous support of our sponsors, committee members, CABLE and nominating organizations. I look forward to chairing the 2018 awards program, and celebrating another incredible class of women leaders.”